Gender Female
Breed DSH
Color Orange Black White
Markings Tortoiseshell
Personality Friendly Outgoing Affectionate
How I Feel About Children Very Comfortable
How I Feel About Dogs Unknown
How I Feel About Cats Very Comfortable
Age 26 years

Cali

It is unfathomable to us how people can treat their animals. Cali was simply abandoned in an apartment in NJ when the tenants moved out. You’d never know it by Cali’s behavior, however; she’s incredibly friendly. I sat next to her to take down a physical description for this posting, and she simply climbed into my lap and sat there, purring.

While Cali was originally in one of our suites, we moved her to the lobby, where she took over the front desk as “her” territory. It’s funny; we’ve had other cats who lived on and around the desk, but none have been as interested in “helping” as Cali has. She lies on paperwork, stands in front of the computer screen or on the keyboard when you’re trying to type, rubs on your pen when you’re trying to write, and lies down full-length on the receiving tray of the fax machine. She’s even set off the paging system on our phone several times. Our Executive Director jokes about renting her out to companies trying to increase their efficiency!

Cali is a lovely calico, with white “socks” on all four feet, white on her chest, and white on her tummy. She has one orange front leg and an orange ear on the opposite side, with black and orange patches on the rest of her coat. She’s about 14 years old (as of 1/10), we believe.

Update: During her stay here we’ve discovered that Cali has hyperthyroidism and inflammatory bowel disease. She requires medication twice daily for her condition, and is currently doing well.